Each of the special housing types described below is targeted to households with particular needs.
Housing quality standards (HQS) apply to all units in these special housing types, but each special type
of housing may have additional unique HQS standards that are identified in this chapter.
Additionally, the payment standard used for each special housing type, and any unique requirements
for determining the utility allowance, calculating the HAP payment, or determining the reasonableness
of the rent, are included in the program descriptions.
Special housing types include:
• Single room occupancy (SRO) housing;
• Congregate housing;
• Group home;
• Shared housing;
• Manufactured home (when the family owns the manufactured home and leases the space);
• Cooperative housing (excluding families that are not cooperative members).

Link: https://www.hud.gov/sites/dfiles/PIH/documents/Special_Housing_Types_Updated_November%202020.pdf

Author: U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development